Quality Assurance and Accreditation

Practice Accreditation and Quality Assurance 
Credentialing and Certification for Individual Radiologists
Coal Workers Pneumoconiosis Register

Practice Accreditation and Quality Assurance

Accreditation for Medical Imaging Services

In Australia

RANZCR/NATA Medical Imaging Accreditation Program
The RANZCR/NATA Medical Imaging Accreditation Program (MIAP) is jointly administered by the College and the National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA). It accredits medical imaging services against the Standards of Practice for Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology.

MIAP is designed by the profession, for the profession, and uses professional peer review and assessment to accredit. This is voluntary; however, MIAP is recognised under—and satisfies the requirements of—the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS).

For information on applying, visit the NATA website.

Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme
In 2007, the Health Insurance Act 1973 was amended to establish a diagnostic imaging accreditation scheme linking mandatory accreditation to the payment of Medicare benefits for clinical radiology and non-radiology services.

To provide Medicare-eligible services, you must be registered under the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS). For more information on DIAS or to find approved accreditors, visit the DIAS website.

In New Zealand

International Accreditation New Zealand is the accrediting body for clinical radiology in New Zealand. IANZ promotes and recognises the development and maintenance of good practice in clinical radiology services.

IANZ accreditation is formal recognition of a clinical radiology service’s skills, expertise, competence, management systems, procedures, and facilities based on independent assessment by peer experts.

For more information visit the IANZ website.


The Mammography Quality Assurance Program (MQAP) focuses on image quality. Diagnostic mammography services are required to participate in the MQAP to meet the Standards of Practice for Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology.

Find out more about the MQAP


MRI Registration for Accreditation is a quality assurance program for clinical images produced for MRI services in Australia and New Zealand. MRI services must participate to meet the RANZCR Standards of Practice for Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology, and (in Australia) Health Insurance Commission regulations.

Find out more about MRI Registration for Accreditation

Computed Tomography (CT)

The RANZCR CT Image Review Self Audit is a self-administered audit activity designed to ensure CT services achieve reproducibly diagnostic quality CT images to support good patient outcomes and reduced exposure to unnecessary radiation.

Find out more about the CT Image Review Self Audit

Credentialing and Certification for Individual Radiologists

CT Coronary Angiography (CTCA)

The Conjoint Committee for CTCA promotes a collaborative and consistent model of CTCA training and service delivery in Australia and New Zealand. The committee is composed of three representatives from each of the following organisations:

  • The Australasian Association of Nuclear Medicine Specialists (AANMS)
  • The Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ)
  • The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR)

For more information about credentialing for CTCA visit the CTCA website

CT Colonography (CTC)

The RANZCR Abdominal Radiology Group of Australia and New Zealand (ARGANZ), has developed training and credentialing guidelines for the practice of CTC. You need to demonstrate that you meet these requirements to be recognised as a CTC specialist.

Find out more about the CTC credentialing program

Interventional Neuroradiology

The Conjoint Committee for the Recognition of Training in Interventional Neuroradiology (CCINR) develops and monitors guidelines for recognition of training in interventional neuroradiology (INR) in Australia and New Zealand. CCINR has equal representation from the three groups performing endovascular neurointerventional procedures in Australia and New Zealand - interventional neuroradiologists, neurosurgeons and neurologists, and is supported by the three Peak Bodies relevant to these subspecialties:

  • Australian and New Zealand Society of Neuroradiology (ANZSNR)
  • Neurosurgical Society of Australasia (NSA)
  • Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists (ANZAN).

Find out more about credentialing for interventional neuroradiology on the CCINR website 

Coal Workers Pneumoconiosis (CWP) Register

The Coal Workers Pneumoconiosis (CWP) Register, launched by RANZCR in 2016, lists the clinical radiologists who are available to report on chest X-rays to screen Australian miners for coal workers pneumoconiosis (CWP), in line with the ILO Classification. This follows the re-emergence of a small number of cases of CWP, also known as ‘coal miners lung’ disease or ‘black lung’ disease, which has not been seen in Australia for the last twenty years.

View CWP Register

Selection Criteria for the Register

RANZCR invites expressions of interests from members who are experienced and available to report on CWP. Their applications are reviewed by the Faculty of Clinical Radiology, based on the following criteria:

  • experience in reporting screening radiographs for pneumoconiosis
  • familiarity with the ILO classification and willing to report using the Classification
  • sufficient caseload of referrals to maintain their competence in this area.

Get Involved

This CWP Register is updated regularly. If you are a clinical radiologist who is interested in joining the register or if you require any further details, please contact the Faculty of Clinical Radiology